A lesson about vulnerability

Standard
A lesson about vulnerability

“To share your weakness is to make yourself vulnerable; to make yourself vulnerable is to show your strength.” ― Criss Jami

Recently I’ve found myself in a bit of a financial pickle so much so that I’m late with my contribution towards the bills of our shared house. As it’s been 2 weeks now, one night I left a note to my housemates explaining why I’m not paying at the moment. I’m not close friends with any of them so I simply wanted them to know that I haven’t forgotten and that I’m feeling really bad about it. It was easier to do in writing and I rarely meet them either way.

Imagine my surprise when the next day one of them came up to my room bringing me toast (and saying nothing about the difficulties, just being caring and nice). The following night I found an envelope under my door from another one living in the house saying they’ve seen my note and thought I might need some money to get by until I get paid but if not, just leave the envelope for them.

The fact that they somehow knew it was hard for me to face it and them being that attentive and kind to do it this way took me by total surprise.

I don’t talk much to them as I’m generally very reserved and I definitely did not expect any reaction to my confession.

But despite of what I was made to believe growing up, people are more generous and loving than we think. They’re good and helping and have a big heart.

It’s a lesson I won’t forget.

Share your thoughts

